Rabbi & Staff

Rabbi & Staff

Rabbi David J. Meyer

djm@emanu-el.org

Rabbi David J. Meyer is celebrating his 25th year leading Temple Emanu-El. Join us as we celebrate this milestone! Details HERE.

Before coming to Temple-Emanu-El in 1992, Rabbi Meyer was ordained by the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion in 1986 and served six years as the Associate Rabbi of the historic Congregation Sherith Israel in San Francisco. He received his Masters of Theology degree from Harvard Divinity School in 1996 and is currently a Doctoral Candidate at Spertus Institute, Chicago. In 2011, Rabbi Meyer was awarded the Doctor of Divinity (honoris causa) from HUC-JIR.

Rabbi Meyer’s sermons and articles have appeared regularly in magazines and rabbinic journals, including The Jewish Spectator, Moment, The American Rabbi, The CCAR Journal, and the American Jewish Archives Journal. He is the author of the acclaimed textbook on Jewish ethics, The Rabbinic Driving Manual: A Jewish Guide to Driver’s Education.

Well-known around the country and abroad in the field of contemporary Jewish folk music, he spent more than a decade as Music Director at the American Jewish University’s Brandeis-Bardin Campus in Southern California. Recently, he has teamed with Jon Nelson to release two full-length CDs of original songs, “This One At Last” and “Road Without Shoulders.”

Rabbi Meyer is also active in many community events and organizations. He is a Past-President of the North Shore Rabbinical Association and the Marblehead Ministerial Association. In addition, Rabbi Meyer has served as a member of the Essex County Anti-Crime Council, on the Boards of the Jewish Federation of the North Shore and Cohen Hillel Academy, and was among the founders of the MarbleheadCares Coalition.

Rabbi Meyer is a founding Board Member of “Art a la Carte,” a charitable organization that delivers artwork to the hospital rooms of long-term cancer patients. For 10 years, he was a member and captain of the Boston Children’s Hospital Miles for Miracles Marathon team. He sits on the national U.J.C. Rabbinic Cabinet and is a recipient of the prestigious Community Rabbinic Leadership Award. Rabbi Meyer has also received the Leonard P. Zakim Humanitarian Award from the Anti-Defamation League in recognition of his work building bridges of understanding between faith communities and the Samuel S. Stahl Community Service Award from the JCC of the North Shore. In 2014, he received the Annual Rabbinic Leadership Award from Combined Jewish Philanthropies (CJP) in Boston.

Jaime Friedman
Executive Director
jfriedman@emanu-el.org

Liz Levin
Temple Educator
llevin@emanu-el.org

Jon Nelson
Music Specialist
temple@emanu-el.org

Joshua Krell
President
president@emanu-el.org

Sarah Taistra
Administrative Assistant
sarah@emanu-el.org

Julie Grossman
Administrative Assistant
julie@emanu-el.org

Shelby Chapper
Engagement and Program Coordinator
shelby@emanu-el.org

Liza Genovese
Bookkeeper
liza@emanu-el.org